Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

A Symmons Plains Sneak Peek

Symmons Plains Raceway is one of the Repco Supercars Championship’s true heritage venues.

Situated just outside the city of Launceston, the 2.4km circuit first hosted the championship in 1969 and this year clocks up its 48th round.

In fact, only Sandown has hosted more rounds of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Repco Supercars Championship than Symmons Plains.

Over time all of the sport’s biggest stars have raced and won at the venue, including local heroes John Bowe and Marcos Ambrose.

Jamie Whincup has the most race wins at the circuit in the championship with 12 ahead of Craig Lowndes (10), Peter Brock and Garth Tander (7 apiece) and Allan Moffat (5).

Here are 10 key moments from the history of the ATCC/Repco Supercars Championship at Symmons Plains.

1969 – Symmons Plains hosts the ATCC for the first time, marking the final round of what is being run as a multi-race series for the first time. The race is won by Norm Beechey’s Holden Monaro.

1971 – Allan Moffat begins a stretch of three victories in three years at Symmons Plains. The first two are achieved aboard his legendary Mustang TransAm and the third with a Ford Falcon XY GT-HO.

1976 – John Harvey scores his first ATCC race win, leading home a five-strong pack of Holden Torana L34s. Harvey’s only other ATCC race win also came at Symmons Plains three years later.

1980 – A new era for the ATCC begins with the opening round at Symmons Plains held under revised Group C rules. Peter Brock scores a debut win for the Holden Commodore.

1985 – Robbie Francevic hands Volvo its maiden ATCC race win at Symmons Plains, which marks the third round of the first season held to international Group A rules.

1992 – The final appearance for the Group A cars at Symmons Plains nets a first ATCC round win for Glenn Seton Racing. It remained Glenn Seton’s only round win aboard a Ford Sierra.

1995 – Symmons Plains hosts the third round of the season on February 26, and Peter Brock wins Race 2 on his 50th birthday! Local hero John Bowe won Race 1 and took round honours.

2004 – The V8 Supercars return to Symmons Plains after a five-year absence. A packed house witnesses Tasmanian star Marcos Ambrose win Race 2 and close on a second straight title.

2013 – Fabian Coulthard scores his first championship race win in Race 1 of the weekend. Jason Bright wins Race 2 and Coulthard takes Race 3, giving Brad Jones Racing a clean sweep.

2017 – A 12-car melee on the second lap of Race 1 brings out the red flags. Only four laps end up being completed and Shane van Gisbergen scores the race win, but no championship points are awarded.