Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Broc Feeney leads the way ahead of qualifying at The Bend

Broc Feeney has dominated Practice 2 at the OTR SuperSprint, with James Courtney crashing out early on.

Feeney’s first-up 1:49.9907s proved too great a benchmark to beat throughout the 30-minute session at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Red Bull Ampol Racing Chevrolets sandwiched the field, with Shane van Gisbergen 24th after another difficult session.

Van Gisbergen missed the balance of the first session after reporting handling issues with his #97 Red Bull Ampol Camaro.

Practice 2 wasn’t much better for the reigning champion, who bowled a wide at Turn 14 and later battled under brakes on his final run.

Feeney led a quartet of Mustangs led by Practice 1 fast man Thomas Randle, with Chaz Mostert rebounding from 16th in Practice 1 to finish third.

Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang) and Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus Mustang) were the only drivers within 0.4s of the dominant Feeney, who at one stage was nearly 0.7s clear.

Anton De Pasquale (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) and David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) rounded out the top five, with Will Brown (#9 Coca-Cola Camaro) sixth.

The session began in high drama for Courtney, who slid onto the grass exiting the final corner and spun into the infield concrete wall.

The 2010 series champion dragged his #5 Snowy River Caravans to pit entry and the Tickford garage, where the car underwent repairs.

The #5 Ford escaped structural damage, but Courtney didn’t return to the session.

At the time of the incident, Feeney was fastest with a 1:49.9907s, and the closest any of his rivals got was still over 0.3s down.

De Pasquale went to second with a 1:50.6621s on his second run, with Randle going third with a 1:50.7312s.

All the while, van Gisbergen fought his #97 Red Bull Ampol Camaro and suffered an off at Turn 14. The Kiwi ended up 24th on a 1:52.0714s.


Feeney was comfortable atop the time sheets despite an error on his final run, also at Turn 14, as the chequered flag flew.

Cam Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang) and Randle all improved, with Moster going third with a 1:50.3474s.

De Pasquale threatened to go to the top before clocking a 1:50.5155s to take fourth ahead of Reynolds, Brown, Waters, Andre Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries Camaro), Matt Payne (#19 Penrite Mustang), and Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang).

Championship leader Brodie Kostecki (#99 Coca-Cola Camaro) was 12th, with Jack Le Brocq going off at Turn 8 aboard his #34 Truck Assist Camaro en route to 15th.

Supercars will return to the track for ARMOR ALL Qualifying at 1:40pm local time/2:10pm AEST.