Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth win the Repco Bathurst 1000

Walkinshaw Andretti United duo Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth have won the 2021 Repco Bathurst 1000.

After Mostert set a record lap time in yesterday’s Top 10 Shootout, the pair took a clear victory from Tickford Racing’s Cam Waters and James Moffat, while Erebus Motorsport’s Brodie Kostecki visited the Bathurst podium for the first time partnering veteran David Russell.

The victory wasn’t without a scare as a tyre failure across the top of the Mountain afflicted the pair on lap 49, but it didn’t hamper the pace of the pair’s WAU ZB Commodore as 3.7935s was the margin at the end of 161 laps.

The first safety car occurred on lap 17 when Thomas Randle ran off at hell Corner, burying the Boost Mobile Mustang in the sand trap as the second interruption occurred due to of all things an echidna strolling onto the track at The Cutting on lap 106.

This led to a steady stream of safety cars as both Matt Stone Racing entries crashed in different incidents, Jayden Ojeda crashing at The Esses and Jake Kostecki at Forrest’s Elbow.

Mostert led after these three safety cars as the next was required after a pre-race favourite stopped exiting The Cutting as a driveline failure for Anton De Pasquale dropped the Ford Mustang he shared with Tony D’Alberto out of the race.

There was one more contender to fall and it was Repco Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen as a tyre problem ended his run in second with Garth Tander in the lead Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Holden Commodore.

Mostert had already built a comfortable margin before van Gisbergen’s problem, but was assured from then on.

Behind the podium finishers, in his last full-time start Jamie Whincup finished fourth with Craig Lowndes, Warren Luff continued his impeccable form at Bathurst to partner Bryce Fullwood to fifth and Nick Percat completed his last race for Brad Jones Racing in sixth partnered by Dale Wood.

Rounding out the 10 were James Courtney/Thomas Randle, Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore, Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard and the Davison brothers in the sole finishing Shell V-Power Racing Ford Mustang.

The win was Mostert’s second in The Great Race, having only made his debut in the race in 2013. For Holdsworth, it was his first win at his 18th attempt.

It was also the first Bathurst 1000 win for Walkinshaw Andretti United in its current ownership guise, having formerly operated as the all-conquering Holden Racing Team.

Focus now turns to Newcastle for the opening round of the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship on March 4-6.