Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

David Reynolds and Will Davison split the opening two poles at AGP

Grove Racing’s David Reynolds and Shell V-Power Racing’s Will Davison have taken the opening pair of pole positions for the third round of the Repco Supercars Championship as support to the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park.

Reynolds is a surprise polesitter for Race 6 after a red flag caused by Tradie Racing’s Jake Kostecki hitting the wall at Turn 5 ended the session after only one flying lap had been logged by a majority of the field.

Achieving a 1m 45.678s, Reynolds finished 0.025s clear of Shell V-Power Racing’s Anton De Pasquale as an off-track excursion after his hot lap left Chaz Mostert touring the Turn 1 sand trap just as Kostecki had his session ending incident, but his lap placed him third.

Completing the second row is De Pasquale’s Shell V-Power Racing teammate Davison as Lee Holdsworth made it two Grove Racing Mustang’s in the top five.

Nick Percat, Cameron Waters, Macauley Jones, Thomas Randle and James Courtney completed the top 10. Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen will start from the back after receiving a kerb strike on his hot lap and pitting without setting a time.

It wasn’t any better for rookie teammate Broc Feeney as he qualified 17th following an incident during opening practice, which forced him to miss the second session.

It was again the Mustangs on top for Race 7 qualifying as Davison pipped Reynolds by 0.081s as van Gisbergen recovered to finish third and will start alongside teammate Feeney after his last gasp effort.

De Pasquale was fifth, 0.337s off his teammate’s benchmark from Brodie Kostecki in Erebus Motorsport’s best showing so far, James Courtney, Mostert, Percat and Todd Hazelwood.

Just missing the top 10 was Waters as Will Brown continued his off form run in 22nd.

Qualifying for the remaining two races kicks off the Repco Supercars Championship action at 9:40am AEST tomorrow followed by the opening event at 2:20pm.