Sign Up

Our Privacy Policy identifies how we handle personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act. Read it prior to submitting your information.

By clicking “Register” you agree to our Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy.

Will Brown converts pole to victory to open Tasmanian account

It was a lights-to-flag victory for Will Brown in the Coca-Cola Racing by Erebus Chevrolet Camaro as drama further back befell the championship leaders in a dramatic opening race at Symmons Plains.

Brown secured victory from R&J Batteries Racing’s Andre Heimgartner celebrating his 100th round and a thrilling battle during the closing stages decided the final podium slot as Red Bull Ampol Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen won out against regular protagonist Cam Waters for Monster Energy Racing.

Brown led away at the start from Jack Le Brocq in the Truck Assist Racing Chevrolet Camaro, but it all kicked off at the hairpin on lap 3.

Championship leader Brodie Kostecki had just demoted Le Brocq and Waters was aiming to do the same approaching the hairpin, but the Coca-Cola Racing by Erebus Camaro ran wide opening the door for the following duo to re-pass.

However, Le Brocq made contact with the rara of Kostecki as Waters made contact damaging the steering on the championship leader’s Camaro. Kostecki was forced to pit as another incident further in the pack also forced the retirement of leading title rival Chaz Mostert after a concertina, which also delayed Broc Feeney.

James Courtney was also forced to pit lane early after contact with Mark Winterbottom on the opening lap.

From there, the race settled down as Heimgartner leapt Waters during the pit stop sequence as van Gisbergen dropped him off the podium during the race’s closing stages.

Behind Waters in fourth was Scott Pye for East Coast Car Rentals Racing to round out the top five holding off Nulon Racing’s Tim Slade, Le Brocq and rookie teammate Cameron Hill finishing in the top 10 for the first time.

Nick Percat in the NTI Mobil 1 Racing Ford Mustang was ninth from Castrol Racing’s Thomas Randle.

Shell V-Power Racing duo Will Davison in 11th and Anton De Pasquale 13th missed the top 10, as did Nulon Racing’s James Golding dropping to 14th, David Reynolds behind teammate Matt Payne in 16th and Feeney finished 18th.

Qualifying for Race 11 will kick off proceedings 9:50am AEST tomorrow ahead of two races.